Join Richie Porte in signing the petition for a one metre minimum overtaking distance

Help Richie Porte in supporting the push for a one metre minimum overtaking distance

Richie Porte, the 2013 Australian Road Cyclist of the year has stepped up the call in pushing for safer cycling for over 4 million Australians who bike ride regularly.

Richie has said ‘enough is enough’ following a horrid 2013 that saw 48 bike riders lose their lives across Australia, including fellow Tasmanian Lewis Hendey just after Christmas and has added his support to the launch of a Federal Petition to implement a metre matters as law.

The petition calls upon the Australian Government to implement changes to the Australian Road Rules mandating a minimum overtaking distance of one metre when drivers pass bike riders on the road. This was presented to the House of Representatives by Andrew Nikolic on the 29th of May 2014. 

In Tasmania representatives from Cycling Tasmania have already met with Mr Rene Hidding who is the Minister for both Infrastructure & Police. We were supported by Sarah Courtney MHA and Guy Barnett MHA who are both cyclists and share our passion to legislate. We also have a representative on the Cycling Safety Steering Committee who will be making a recommendation to the Road Safety Advisory Council on this issue.

What can I do?

In any democracy, the voice of the constituency is vital and CT need the support of its members to actively lobby the elected members to let them know your thoughts.

You have signed the Petition along with 30,000 others - well now we strongly urge you to take the time to let the government know that safety on our roads is important to you as a cyclist, a relative of a cyclist or a friend of a cyclist.

We have prepared some standard wording for you to copy and paste and send to as many politicians as you like, feel free to add a personal statement if you wish - Email to Tasmanian MHA's in support of A Metre Matters.docx

Here are the contact details for our current Tasmanian Parliament -    Parliament Email Contacts

Currently we are aware that Sarah Courtney & Guy Barnett are strongly supportive of the legislative change, we also know that Will Hodgman, Adam Brooks and Mark Shelton signed the petition. However we need the support of the entire Liberal cabinet to be successful. Hence we also need the support of Michael Ferguson, Matthew Groom, Peter Gutwein, Paul Harriss, Jacquie Petrusma, Jeremy Rockliff, Elise Archer, Joan Rylah & Roger Jaensch.

Further Information on the proposed change can be found here:

subaru national road series
National Road Series

Australia's Premier Road Racing Series presented by Subaru features over 20 events around the nation for both men and women.   

Find Out More


AustCycle is the national leader in providing cycle training to people of all ages and skill levels throughout the Australian community.


Find Out More

CA Twitter